Русский   English

About Buryatia

Republic of Buryatia - the administrative subject of the Russian Federation, located in the Eastern Siberia. Republic is famous for its magnificent nature and, above all, Lake Baikal. In Buryatia there are several large nature reserves and national parks. Among them, the Barguzin State Biosphere Reserve, Baikal State Biosphere Nature Reserve, State Nature Reserve "Dzherginsky", "Trans-Baikal" National Park, "Tunka" National Park.


Buryatia is very interesting for its history and culture. Its territory has united two traditions - Oriental and European, each of which is unique. The republic is home to over 167 nationalities (according to the data of population census 2010): Russian, Buryat, Ukrainians, Tatars, as well as small-numbered indigenous peoples of the North (Evenks, Soyots), etc.


Ulan-Ude - the administrative center of the country, industrial and cultural center of Buryatia. This is one of the oldest large cities of Siberia and the Far East. Ulan-Ude is rightly called the Heart of Russian Asia, or Sunny city on the shores of Lake Baikal.

The city is located in the mountain valley of the Selenga and the Uda Rivers, 130 km to the east of Lake Baikal. Population - more than 400 thousand people. The area of Ylan-Ude is 377 square kilometers. All the transport routes to the East pass through the city: Trans-Siberian railway, federal highways, as well as the international airport "Baikal". Ulan-Ude has 24 sister cities, including Berkeley (USA), Manchuria (China), Yamagata (Japan), Ulan Bator (Mongolia) and others.

Since 1990, Ulan-Ude is included in the list of historical cities of Russia. On its territory are placed 234 objects of cultural heritage (11 objects of federal and 223 of republican value). In Ulan-Ude there are 10 museums, including the Ethnographic Museum of Transbaikalia Peoples, Buryatia History Museum, Buryatia Nature Museum, etc. The city is famous as the theater capital of the Eastern Siberia - there is as much as 6 theaters, where all kinds of performances, from opera and to folk dances, are set.


Not far from the town is Ivolginsky datsan - a Buddhist monastery, which is the center of the Buddhist Traditional Sangha of Russia, as well as the seat of the incorruptible body of Hambo Lama Itigelov.


The symbol of Ulan-Ude is considered to be a sculpted statue of Lenin's head, set in the city center on the area of the Soviets. It is the largest statue of Lenin's head in the world (height - 7.7 m, width - 4.5 m, weight - 42 tons).


In 2016, Ulan-Ude city will celebrate its 350th anniversary since its foundation in 1666.

Русский   English

О Бурятии

Республика Бурятия – субъект Российской Федерации, расположенный в Восточной Сибири. Республика знаменита своей восхитительной природой и, в первую очередь, озером Байкал. В Бурятии существует несколько крупных заповедников и национальных парков. Среди них, Баргузинский государственный биосферный заповедник, Байкальский государственный биосферный заповедник, государственный природный заповедник «Джергинский», национальный парк «Забайкальский», национальный парк «Тункинский».


Бурятия очень интересна своей историей и культурой. На ее территории соединились две традиции — восточная и европейская, каждая из которых уникальна. На территории республики проживают представители свыше 167 национальностей (по данным Всероссийской переписи населения  2010 г.): русские, буряты, украинцы, татары, а также малочисленные коренные народы Севера (эвенки, сойоты) и т.д.


Город Улан-Удэ – административный центр республики, промышленный и культурный центр Бурятии. Это один из старейших крупных городов Сибири и Дальнего Востока. Улан-Удэ по праву называют Сердцем российской Азии или Солнечным городом на берегах Байкала.
Город расположен в горной долине рек Селенги и Уды, в 75 км к востоку от озера Байкал. Население — более 400 тыс. человек. Площадь территории — 377 км². Через город проходят все транспортные пути на Восток: Транссибирская железнодорожная магистраль, федеральные автомобильные дороги,  а так же международный аэропорт «Байкал». У Улан-Удэ 24 города побратима, в том числе Беркли (США), Маньчжурия (КНР), Ямагата (Япония), Улан-Батор (Монголия) и другие.


С 1990 года Улан-Удэ входит в список исторических городов России. На его территории находится 234 объекта культурного наследия (11 объектов – федерального значения, 223 — республиканского значения). В Улан-Удэ расположено 10 музеев, в том числе Этнографический музей народов Забайкалья, музей истории Бурятии, музей природы Бурятии и т.д. Город  знаменит как театральная столица Восточной Сибири – здесь находится целых 6 театров, где ставят всевозможные постановки, начиная от оперы и заканчивая народными танцами.


Неподалеку от города находится Иволгинский Дацан - буддийский монастырь, который является  центром Буддийской традиционной Сангхи России, а также местом нахождения нетленного тела Хамбо-ламы Итигэлова.


Символом Улан-Удэ по праву считается скульптурное изваяние головы В.И. Ленина, установленное в центре города на площади Советов. Это самая большая скульптура головы Ленина в мире (высота - 7,7 м, ширина - 4,5 м, вес - 42 т).


В 2016 году город Улан-Удэ будет отмечать свою 350-летнюю годовщину со дня основания в 1666 году.